for STATE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES   29TH LD | Position 1 | Democrat




Franklin-Pierce School District-Board Director, Housing Advocate and U.S. Army Veteran Melanie Morgan to run for the 29th Legislative District State Representative, Position 1

Announces key endorsements from State Representative Laurie Jinkins, Tacoma City Council Member Catherine Ushka, among others.


Tacoma, WA--Today, Franklin-Pierce School District-Board Director Melanie Morgan announced her candidacy for the 29th Legislative District State Representative, Position 1. The seat is currently held by Rep. David Sawyer.

Director Melanie Morgan was first elected to the Franklin-Pierce School Board in 2015 with over 75% of the vote. Director Morgan was instrumental in the passage of the district’s $157 million bond measure in 2016, the first bond measure to pass in the district since 1998. Building upon the success of this measure, Director Morgan once again played a critical role in the successful passage of two school levy renewals this February. Director Morgan has worked with community leaders to explore partnerships with local organizations in the 29th LD to better serve the community. The Parkland Foursquare church, pastored by Dan Donohue is such an example. The church has adopted one of the district's elementary schools, hosting events and providing meals, clothing, and other necessary resources to the school’s children. Director Morgan is currently working with Young Life to create a mentorship group for young black males, with a focus on participation in STEM fields. Director Morgan has also worked extensively in her off time to feed and clothe the homeless.  

In conjunction with today’s announcement, Director Morgan is also touting key endorsements from Chair of the House Judiciary Committee, Rep. Laurie Jenkins (D-27), Tacoma City Council Member Catherine Ushka, and Former Pierce County Council Member and current Chair of the Pierce County Democrats, Tim Farrell. In acknowledgement of her leadership and contributions to educational excellence, she has also earned the support of Franklin-Pierce School Board Director Rebecca Gallogly, Orting School Board Director Clementina Perez, Orting School Board President Stanley Holland, former Director of AVID in the Tacoma School District and former candidate for State Superintendent Erin Jones, former Washington State Legislative Aide, sexual harassment advocate, and winner of the University of Washington Tacoma’s 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award Jessica Gavre, and 2016 Washington State Teacher of the Year Nate Bowling.

Explaining her decision to run for State Representative, Director Melanie Morgan said, “As someone who has lost their home and experienced homelessness, I understand the struggles far too many residents of the 29th are facing. Residents are being taxed out of their homes, going bankrupt due to soaring healthcare costs, and lack access to quality transportation, which creates barriers to sustaining better paying jobs.”

Director Morgan is also committed to creating an environment that is safe for everyone. As a Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Advocate, #Me Too is a movement that she takes very seriously. NO ONE deserves to be harassed. She goes on to say, “I am excited to be the new face of the 29th, and I eagerly await the opportunity to work with the voters of the 29th Legislative District to build an inclusive, positive and civically minded district.  I am committed to giving the people of the 29th the leader they deserve, and I look forward to earning their vote.”

Prior to being elected to the Franklin-Pierce School Board, Director Morgan was appointed by the Pierce County Council to serve as a Commissioner on the Board of the Pierce County Housing Authority, where she oversaw budgets, programs, policies and procedures. Director Morgan also served on the Board of Community Healthcare. Director Morgan graduated from St. Martin’s College with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.


Contact: Michael Fertakis | |206.941.4075

The 29th LD includes South Tacoma, portions of Lakewood, Spanaway & Parkland.